Shortlisted for 2021 RSL ENCORE AWARD

Shortlisted for 2021 RSL ENCORE AWARD

Should We Fall Behind has been shortlisted for the prestigious Royal Society of Literature’s Encore Award 2021. The prize celebrates ‘outstanding’ second novels

The Encore Award

The Encore Award was first presented in 1990 to celebrate the achievement of outstanding second novels. The Award fills a niche in the catalogue of literary prizes. The RSL has administrated the award since 2016.

The Encore Award 2021

We are delighted to announce the shortlist for the Encore Award 2021, for best second novel of the year. This year’s judges are Sian Cain, Nikita Lalwani and Paul Muldoon.

  • Piranesi by Susanna Clarke (Bloomsbury)
  • Should We Fall Behind by Sharon Duggal (Bluemoose Books)
  • The Blind Light by Stuart Evers (Picador)
  • The Wild Laughter by Caoilinn Hughes (One World)
  • The First Woman by Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi (One World)

Please read the press release for more information.

For press enquiries relating to the Encore Award please contact Clair Chamberlain at Bread and Butter PR:

The winner will be announced on Thursday 20 May.

For questions about awards and prizes, please contact Martha Stenhouse, General Manager,